The George Hotel Inveraray
The present George Hotel Inveraray, was originally two private houses completed in 1770. They were part of a project by the 3rd Duke of Argyll, started in 1744, to build a whole new town in Inveraray. This was to be the first example in Scotland of a planned town
In 1776 the 5th Duke of Argyll ordered that the ground floor flat of each of these private houses would be made into temporary churches for the Gaelic and English speaking congregations. These two churches are now covered by the Public Bar, Front Lounge and Church Hall. How the times have changed!
In 1860 the two private houses were amalgamated into the George Hotel by the Clark family, in whose possession the Inn still remains. Generation seven now resides in the hotel. The present owner, Donald Clark, has carefully and sensitively restored and enhanced the bedrooms, restaurants and bars to create a unique atmosphere.
The Duke of Argyll employed the services of Adam and Milne, renowned architects of their time. Together they built the first planned town in Scotland, Inveraray. The buildings in the main town remain whitewashed with blackened window surrounds.
The Royal Burgh of Inveraray was the administrative town for the area, with a Judicial Court and Jail . It is home to the Duke of Argyll, head of the Clan Campbell
The industry of the town was herring. The smoking of these fish produced the famous Loch Fyne Kipper. The fish industry survives along the longest sea loch in Scotland, with farmed salmon, mussels and oysters. Loch Fyne Oysters Ltd at the head of the loch produce arguably some of the best smoked varieties of salmon in Scotland.